Spread and Stay Strong…

Anand Radhakrishnan
7 min readNov 4, 2020
Have faith in WiFi!

There are certain “spaces” in our homes where the WiFi signal refuses to penetrate. What do we do? Simple…respect those “spaces”, call them dead-zones and do everything in your power to stay away from them, like placing the couches on the opposite side! Well, this works until someone in the house begins to walk around with a smart device, expecting YouTube to play seamlessly, especially in the dead-zones! Boundaries are broken, respect is lost and you wonder why your “WiFi Sucks”. Been there, done that?

I have heard these kind of stories from my friends but the gravity does not work on you unless you fall yourself. So I decided to get myself a budget mesh router that would cover most of my 177sq. mtr house. I found a good deal for DLINK COVR C1203 and bought one. Setup was easy and everyone seemed to be happy, except for the kid, who chooses to stream content sitting on a bed. This bed happens to be in one of the dead-zones. And the mesh network did not seem to improve the situation!

Room Layout with Dead Zones

This is not cool! I had expected the mesh to solve connectivity issues in the dead-zones. Either the device is broken or then the dead-zone devices are not connecting to the closest mesh node (B). For some reason, speeds are…

--

--